I want to be an English writer as a native Japanese

Mai Yamamoto
Japanese writer
Published in
3 min readMay 8, 2019

--

I started blogging in 2015, and most of the time I have written in Japanese which is my mother tongue. I’ve been talking about my life, languages, healthy diets and more things that I am always interested in.

But now I want to write my stories in English. It is not easy at all for me to write in my second language. I have been too lazy to learn about reading and writing English. When I tried to improve my English, I always focused on speaking and listening comprehensive because for me English is just a tool to communicate colloquially with people in the world.

And then, why did I change my mind? Because I love writing so much that I want to be able to write in English as well as Japanese. I have something that I want to tell you, who possibly don’t understand Japanese. I also want to deliver my stories to much more people.

Thinking about my writing skill and technics of English, I feel embarrassed because it’s not good at all. But I remembered that my Japanese writing was also miserable, when I have just started blogging in Japanese. I realized, the more I wrote, the better my Japanese writing became. I hope the same thing could happen to my English, too.

So, I believe, all I need to do is just to keep writing. And I met Medium, this platform, which looks so powerful and creative…

--

--

Mai Yamamoto
Japanese writer

Japanese writer. Poetry, Travel, Cooking, Gardening and Languages.