Wallet Friendly Japanese Fashion Brands to shop in Japan!

Rin
Japan with Love
Published in
4 min readJan 9, 2018

Happy New Year!

For my first post of 2018, I will be sharing some of my favourite affordable Japanese fashion brands that I will visit without fail on my trips to Japan. These brands target ladies in their 20s and prices range between 500 yen and 3,900 yen.

I usually look at the brand websites prior to my trip to bookmark some of the items that I like. I feel that this helps me to maximise my limited shopping time in Japan and money.

Other than looking at the products on their website, I also visit staff blogs/instagram accounts to get an idea of how to style the items and get inspirations.

All images in this post are taken from the brands’ official websites.

  1. WEGO

WEGO sells trendy clothes, accessories and vintage items. They have several outlets in Tokyo and other parts of Japan. In Tokyo itself there are 23 outlets! Interestingly, it was cited as one of the reasons for Forever 21's closure in Japan.

Outlets in Tokyo: http://www.wego.jp/access/tokyo/

2. GU

GU is owned by FAST company which also owns Uniqlo and sells casual wear items at cheap prices. Although the quality may not be as great as Uniqlo, it is still decent and I often find myself re-wearing GU clothes again and again due to the versatility of the designs.

Outlets in Tokyo: http://gu.mapion.co.jp/b/gu/attr/13/?t=attr_con

3. Emsexcite

I only discovered Emsexcite last year by chance while shopping in Sapporo and fell in love with the brand for their focus on casual wear. I really love the top on the left but it is sold out online already. #notmeanttobemine

Outlets in Japan: http://www.emsexcite-v.jp/shop/

4. Retro Girl

Another brand that I discovered last year! I had a very pleasant shopping experience at the Sapporo outlet near the station on my last day in Hokkaido as the staff actually opened the shop for me when they were in the midst of preparing to close. They even went the extra mile to switch on the lights and music so that I could shop better. After paying for my goods (I did a quick 10 min shopping as I didn’t want to impose on them), the staff led us out of the station as the shutters were down in most parts of the shopping area. This left a deep impression on me!

Outlets in Japan: http://www.retro-girl.jp/shoplist

5. Casita

Casita is a relatively new brand so there isn’t much information about it yet. They usually sell their items under Emsexcite or Retro Girl stores so I don’t think they have their own a physical store yet. Although Casita sell clothes, I prefer their bags and accessories!

Thank you for reading!

--

--