Sweeping Declarations

A White Guy’s Love Letter to Tokyo

The world’s greatest city

Alex Steullet
Japonica Publication
10 min readNov 22, 2021

--

Shibuya, Tokyo. Photo by Andre Benz on Unsplash

In June, I wrote a piece on the hardships of living in Tokyo as a foreign white guy. Back then I promised myself I would write the other side of the story; about why I love my Tokyo lifestyle so much.

But since then, I’ve been struggling. Turns out, writing a love letter is harder than I’d expected.

We all have our reasons for living where we live. For some, it’s necessity. For others, it’s custom.

For me, it’s passion.

To understand why for me, there’s only Tokyo, I would have to take you on a grand voyage. An epic tale that would take a far better poet than me to write.

But I’ll do my best, sharing with you a few snapshots I’ve taken over the years. Just keep in mind these are but a few frames in an ongoing production. If you want the full panoramic experience, hop on a plane and come see for yourself.

--

--

Alex Steullet
Japonica Publication

Writing to get better. Tokyo-based polyglot with a degree in human rights. Travel | Humor | Language | Society. Find me anywhere @alexstwrites.