Finding My Bambi and Thumper in Japan

A Magical Experience in the Land of Exquisite Shrines

Karen Farrah Oswald
Japonica Publication
5 min readFeb 6, 2022

--

Okazaki Shrine in Kyoto. Photo by Karen Farrah Oswald

My brother and I could not be more different from each other. I’m a bit of a rebel; he’s the perfect son. He lives in the fancy part of town, and I live, well…somewhere else.

Though we live less than 25 miles apart, we see each other once a year at most. Since we left the nest many years ago, I can count the hours we’ve spent together on one hand. So when he invited me on a trip to Japan, I was shocked.

I was a little worried about spending so much time together, but an all expenses paid trip? No way would I pass up that chance to hang with my favorite big brother.

He wanted to show me the magic of Japan where he used to live and met his wife. They were going to the wedding of their nephew and invited me to come. I was all in and excited. I was off to Japan!

The plane ride was the longest one I had ever taken. It scarred me for life. From here on after I’m flying business class. Baby, this tall girl needs her space!

But once we finally touched down on the magical island of Japan and I had my first taste, all I can say is — Japan! Where have you been my whole life?!

Bambi and Thumper

After we arrived in Kyoto, the walking began and did not end until we were on the plane home. We visited the most beautiful temples and gardens I had ever seen and yes, I have never walked so much in my life. So much so, after visiting temple after temple, after yet another temple on the third day, I could not move my legs any further and had to stay behind.

I started this journey wearing flats. Big mistake — wear your trainers at all times. You will be walking and when I say walking, I mean walking. Everywhere. No wonder everyone is so fit.

And speaking of legs, keep those babies covered if you’re a mosquito’s idea of a tasty treat.

While walking along the Philosopher’s Way to one gorgeous temple after another, some divine intervention beckoned me and we happened upon a small non-touristy temple called Okazaki Shrine.

As we entered, I realized why fate had brought me to this spot all the way from Los Angeles. My favorite thing ever is bunnies! And here were bunnies. Bunnies, bunnies everywhere. Statues of bunnies abounded.

Please allow me to elaborate — I kind of have this thing for deer and bunnies. Most likely stemming from being so in love with the drawings of Bambi and Thumper and then being utterly traumatized by the film.

My first thought was amazement — here is a temple dedicated to my favorite animal! It made sense after finding out that it was a temple for fertility.

Japan gave me wonders for both of my loves, bunnies and deer. Because my next stop was Nara.

Bambiland in Nara

Bambiland in Nara by Karen Farrah Oswald

Nara was a big deal because I made the big excursion on my own, making my way through Japan’s train system without my Japanese-speaking brother. He walked me to the station, instructed me where my stop would be and told me to call him once I returned from my adventure. As if it were only that simple.

Nara was the most surreal experience of my life. Photographing all the beautiful deer roaming around, I was even more thrilled to discover they would come right up to you. Docile. Tame. Sweet. Eager for their treats that were sold everywhere. I fell even more in love at the fact you could actually pose next to them. A Bambi lover’s dream indeed.

But with each photo, my cell phone battery drained away. Though reluctant to leave Nara, I made my way back to the train, praying the whole way my 5% battery remaining would survive. To conserve battery, I put the phone in standby which meant I missed the hundred calls and texts from my brother asking if I was okay.

Fortunately, when I arrived back at the station, I had just enough juice left to call him. When I saw him running through the crowds, I will never forget the look of concern on his face and the relief we shared when I successfully completed my mission.

A Vegetarian in Japan

Baan Thai Market in Kobe by Karen Farrah Oswald

My brother had been taking me to nice places to experience the special cuisine of Japan. I tend to gravitate toward anything ramen.

An issue of mine, one of many, is I am a reluctant pescatarian. I don’t eat meat at all, and though I will occasionally eat fish, I sure as heck don’t enjoy raw fish. As you can imagine, the American expression, “slim pickings” comes to mind to describe my food choices.

There are a couple of cuisines that have more generous options for non-meat eaters. My favorite cuisine is Thai, and I was on the hunt. The salty, sweet, spicy, sour flavors paired with vegetables is this girl’s idea of a party in my belly.

Once I was comfortable venturing out on my own around the hood, I was excited to stumble upon a quirky and hip place nearby with the best Thai food I have ever eaten in my life. And I live in LA! We have amazing Thai restaurants here. But this place was even better. I’m convinced the best Thai food in the world is in Japan.

Every day my brother would tease me — why would you come to Japan and eat Thai?! He kept nagging me to try Japanese food. But as I walked the streets that literally have no name, I’d found my gem in Japan.

Goodbye and Hello Again Soon?

Japan reminds me of what I imagine America used to be like in our glory days, except times 10. Pride in everything they produce. Everything is practically an art form and packaged meticulously beautiful.

The people are so friendly and respectful. The streets are so clean you can practically eat off them. Everything was clean, clean, clean! I even saw dogs wearing booties.

I swear the cities were peaceful and quiet. But I don’t get the entire lack of street names — WTF?

While immersing myself in my newly adopted favorite place in the world, I also experienced an epiphany…Japanese men: hot! Another good reason to spend quality time here again.

Thank you, Japan! I had to go home for now, but I’ll be back as soon as I can. With good shoes and an extra cell phone battery next time. Because I’m ready for more great Thai food.

--

--