Giving Birth in Tokyo, Japan

My Personal Experience Dealing with a Baby Birth as an American Father in Japan

Japanese Culture & Photography
Japonica Publication

--

Photo Credit Alfred Kan

It’s a lot better to give birth in Japan than in the U.S. After the birth, the hospital takes care of mother and baby for at least a week.

Selecting a Hospital

Originally we selected a huge hospital (similar to Kaiser in the US) but due to the huge amount of applicants, we were turned down. This meant that we were forced to choose a smaller hospital closer to home. After my wife gave birth, I realized that it is a lot better to apply for a big hospital. It is a bit personal so I won’t get into too many details regarding it but there was a slight problem at birth.

Birth

Due to the problem at birth, the small clinic did not have permission to treat our baby and they had to transfer her to the big hospital that previously turned down our application using an ambulance. It was my first time riding an ambulance in Japan and hopefully the last.

It was 10 pm and I needed to go with my baby to the big hotel alone since my wife had to be treated at the smaller clinic. When I arrived, the nurse said to wait until they were done treating her.

Waiting for the Doctor

--

--

Japanese Culture & Photography
Japonica Publication

Japanese culture, food, sightseeing spots, and photography. Tokyo based Asian American professional photographer born and raised in Hawaii.