Japanese Taxis Are A Treasure

Or do you prefer UBER?

Joe Palermo
Japonica Publication
3 min readOct 13, 2022

--

Photo by Andrey Grushnikov: https://www.pexels.com/photo/photo-of-cars-in-the-street-940035/

I saw an article talking about Tokyo taxi fares being increased for the first time in fifteen years. The reason given was fuel costs. I found this amusing since a separate article referenced the government extending its oil subsidy program so fuel rates would not increase. Hmm.

Regardless of the fare situation, I have always loved Japanese taxis since I first experienced them back in 1979. I lived in Japan throughout the 1980s and have visited almost every year since. I have ridden local taxis in Gunma and Saitama prefectures as well as those in large cities such as Tokyo and Osaka. I am not a fan of UBER being introduced in Japan, though I have used them in the US when traveling.

The taxi experience in Japan is unique. It always involves a spotless vehicle. The driver will wear white gloves, showing he takes pride in his vehicle and chosen vocation. I say “he” as my drivers have always been male. It seems less than 2% of taxi drivers are female. That could be the subject of a separate article.

Drivers can often be seen polishing their vehicles during any downtime. Taxis are a source of pride in Japan; for me, they seem part of the culture, similar to traditional black taxis in England, for example. One learns early on that the door is opened remotely by the driver and the…

--

--

Joe Palermo
Japonica Publication

Author of “No Pianos, Pets or Foreigners! My Life in Japan in the 80s”, available on Amazon, as well as articles in various print publications.