The Ideal Japanese Date: Achievable for Foreign Ladies?

I never expected any of the traditional rules to apply to me.

Olivia F
Japonica Publication

--

Photo by Matthieu Huang on Unsplash

In Japan, traditionally it takes 3 dates before the guy confesses to the girl and before the two become an official couple. As a foreigner, I never expected this rule to apply to me.

Let me tell you the story of an unbelievably breathtaking date that happened to me.

My one in a lifetime amazing Japanese date experience:

I had met a lovely guy at a meetup, and he was very interested in talking to me as I am French and he used to live in Cameroon and Morocco where he learned some French.

The second time we met, we went to a café in Shinjuku. We had tea and it was our first time seeing each other’s faces. (Always a bit mysterious with these masks around…) We chatted for a while, then went on for a walk and had vegan burgers. It was a nice day, not so much to talk about.

We kept on texting. He cared a lot about me but I couldn’t imagine how much until he asked me out again.

The THIRD time we met. He offered that we’d go to Asakusa area and visit the planetarium before going to SkyTree. I found that plan to be very cool and unusual.

--

--

Olivia F
Japonica Publication

Multilingual creative lawyer currently based in Melbourne and lived in Tokyo for more than 2y. Interested in minimalism, environment, cultures, self-love…