Time In Japan Is Different From The Rest Of The World!

The day doesn’t have to end at midnight

Japanese Culture & Photography
Japonica Publication

--

Spocha 25 PM, photo by Alfred Kan

Japan is so technologically advanced that it can have up to 28 hours within one day!

Just kidding, but you will actually see tickets (bus, game centers, etc.) that say 28:00 which is over 24 hours. I actually missed my night bus and almost my trip because of this time convention.

The first time I experienced more than 24 hours in the day was when I was studying abroad in Japan with a friend. We had a ticket going to Akita in the north of Japan and it stated 11/24 25:15 so we obviously went on 11/24 at 1:15 am.

Just in case, we asked a Japanese friend if this meant that we should go on the 25th at 1:15 or the 24th. She said the 24th since you can’t have a whole day in hours. If you are able to have one whole day in the hours then there is no limit to it. You can say let’s meet up today at 72:00, 3 days later.

So we said our goodbyes to our friends in our dorm and went to the bus terminal. When we got there, and the bus guide stated we are there one day too early.

I looked at the date of my ticket and it said 11/24. Then I checked my phone and it said 11/24. We even double checked with two Japanese friends before going but we were wrong. Luckily we were able to…

--

--

Japanese Culture & Photography
Japonica Publication

Japanese culture, food, sightseeing spots, and photography. Tokyo based Asian American professional photographer born and raised in Hawaii.