Want to Be Spirited Away in Japan? Visit Eiheiji Temple.

How to enjoy the most sacred Zen place in the world

Yuko Tamura
Japonica Publication

--

Karamon: The gate only monks can pass. All photos by Author.

I have to confess that I had underestimated Fukui until I stepped into Eiheiji Temple. I’ve made the rounds to many temples in Japan and other Asian countries, yet with the sacred atmosphere and the beautiful harmony of the Japanese wooden architecture surrounded by nature Eiheiji immediately became my favorite.

Eiheiji is one of the two central temples of the Sōtō School of Japanese Zen Buddhism. If you’re interested in Zen culture or want to get a glimpse of Japanese monks’ practices, you’ll fall in love with Eiheiji and Fukui prefecture, where the largest number of temples exist in Japan.

Can’t come in person because of the closed borders? Please enjoy my report for your virtual tour while you plan your future visit.

I was lucky to see a Shishimai lion dancing in the street.

Welcome to the World of Zen

Passing the stone gate and walking into the premises of Eiheiji, I was already sure it would be a special experience. The temple is deep in the mountains, surrounded by towering old trees and the Eiheiji River.

--

--

Yuko Tamura
Japonica Publication

Writer and cultural translator based in Tokyo. Bylines: The Japan Times, Lonely Planet, CNBC, YourTango and more. EiC of Japonica.