What Do Travelers Love Most About Japan? The Answer is Unexpected.

A peek into the world of the private tour industry in Japan through the eyes of a travel entrepreneur

Alvin T.
Japonica Publication

--

Kyoto, Japan
Kyoto, Japan. Photo by Sorasak on Unsplash

I was running late for my meeting at the Hachiko statue in Shibuya, Tokyo. I had an appointment with a fellow Singaporean living in Japan — Aw Wanping, and I was excited to hear her story as a travel entrepreneur based in Japan.

She is a researcher in nutritional science at Keio University, but also the co-founder of a private tour travel agency, TokudAw Inc., based in Tokyo.

We had connected over LinkedIn, and Wanping had promised to tell me the one unexpected thing that travelers love about Japan. She teased that I would have no idea what it was. Having lived in Japan for six years, I needed to see Japan again with fresh eyes.

Co-founding a Travel Agency in Japan

Photo of Aw Wanping and Tokuda at Mt Fuji on different occasions (Photo credit: TokudAw Inc., used with permission)

Wanping first got involved in the tourism industry through her husband, who works in transportation, providing micro-buses and other vehicles for hire.

--

--

Alvin T.
Japonica Publication

Sociologist-thinker-marketer in Tokyo. Editor of Japonica. Follow to read about life in Japan, modern society, and poignant truths infused with irony.