Why Japan is the Perfect Destination For Solo Travelers

A wonderful adventure awaits you even if you come alone…

Noah Q
Japonica Publication
4 min readMar 20, 2024

--

Photo by Masaaki Komori on Unsplash

While tourism in many countries is often geared towards couples and groups, Japan has built a reputation as a very welcoming destination for solo travelers.

I spent 15 memorable days there during the Spring of 2023, and my trip completely reignited my love for solo travel. I found Japan to be quite easy to navigate and the plethora of sites and attractions kept me occupied at all times.

Since Japan opened its borders in October of 2022, hordes of solo travelers have been visiting the country for a multitude of reasons.

Safety

Japan has a reputation for being safe. Both the United States and Canadian governments rank Japan’s risk and threat level as a level 1­ (“take normal security precautions”), a status reserved for the safest countries in the world.

Large cities like Tokyo and Osaka are safe to walk at night, while women are free to board “women only carriages” during specific hours for added safety. Pickpocketing and thefts are uncommon, while Japan’s strict gun and drug laws makes violent crimes rare.

Getting around

You can travel to the most popular tourist spots in Japan by train or bus. The Shinkansen bullet train, for example, allows tourists to travel from city to city in just a few hours. Tokyo metro and Toei subway boasts 13 subway lines and over 200 subway stations, most of which have English signage.

It may sometimes be difficult for solo travelers to get around. Renting a car can be expensive and tours may not even take solo travelers, or may charge them more. Nonetheless, Japan has one of the most reliable, efficient and punctual transportation systems in the world, so getting around shouldn’t be too hard.

Photo by Fikri Rasyid on Unsplash

Dining made easy

Eating alone is common in Japan. Many small restaurants consists of only a counter and several stools lined side by side, making it the perfect arrangement for solo travelers. When I was at Omoide Yokocho in Shinjuku, I mainly saw salary men and locals eating on their own.

What I loved most about dining alone was that I wasn’t treated any differently than families or groups. I remember having dinner at a Saizeriya in Osaka, and the restaurant consisted of mostly four person tables. Despite it being busy, I was given a four person table in the middle of the chaos, rather than being tucked away in a corner.

Accommodations for one

For many solo travelers, accommodations are the most expensive part of their trip, with some being charged on a per room, rather than per person, basis. In Japan, many accommodations offer single rooms. When I was in Yokohama, I stayed in a ryokan consisting of single tatami matted rooms and a futon bed. In fact, the first two floors were all single rooms!

Unlike most countries, capsule hotels are common in Japan, and those that don’t mind sharing a room with strangers can book a single bed/pod for themselves. I stayed in a few capsule hotels, and while space was minimal, I found my beds to be quite cozy and comfortable.

Embracing solitude and admiring the beauty

I often hear people telling me that traveling alone wouldn’t be enjoyable because I’ll have “no one to share the experience with”. While that may be true, Japan is the perfect destination for those seeking self reflection or solitude. Japan is brimming with thousands of temples, shrines, serene trails and other beautiful sites that invoke a sense of peace, tranquility or zen.

In a world filled with constant chaos, temples like Kodai-ji in Kyoto gave me a rare chance to simply reflect, enjoy my own company and appreciate the little things in life without the distraction of others.

Bamboo Forest in Kodai-ji, Kyoto. Image by author.

While the idea of traveling alone may sound like a daunting and terrifying thought for some, it’s actually quite a liberating and empowering life experience. Japan’s low crime rates, reliable transportation systems, single room accommodations, as well as the plethora of things to do in the country make it the ideal destination for solo travel. Just remember, adventure awaits you, even if it means doing it on your own.

--

--

Noah Q
Japonica Publication

Canadian focusing on minimalism, frugal living and solo travel. A college prof once told me my writing is “really good”, so here I am