The Strange Story Behind Japan’s Love of Fried Chicken on Christmas

Even Most Japanese People Don’t Know the Fascinating History Behind This Delicious Tradition

Rahil C.
Japonica Publication

--

Photo by Ziyang Hsiung on Unsplash

I was teaching my Junior High School English class last week. I asked my students what their plans were for the upcoming winter break and more specifically what they had planned for Christmas.

Some were travelling with their family, but the majority were staying in town. I probed, “What do you do on Christmas Day?”.

The conversation went as follows:

Students: “Eat chicken. It’s tasty.”
Me: “What type of chicken?”
Students: *Pause*
Students: “Fried chicken.”

Me: “Does everyone eat fried chicken on Christmas Day?”
Students: “Yes!”

Me: “Where can I get fried chicken?”
Students: “At Sunterrace!” (this is the name of our local grocery store)

Me: “But do you know why?”
Students: *Pause to think*
Students: “No.”

So in an attempt to educate my students (and myself), I dug a little deeper.

Enter, KFC

Japan is currently the third largest KFC market in the world only behind the US and China.

--

--

Rahil C.
Japonica Publication

Australian lawyer who used to teach English in Japan. Loves a hot latte while listening to Vaundy.