You Speak Japanese Really Well!

Understanding the true meaning of “Nihongo ga jōzu”

Melissa Komatsu
Japonica Publication
5 min readSep 7, 2022

--

Photo by Nicholas Ng on Unsplash

Living in Japan, there are some unique experiences you’re bound to have simply because you’re a foreigner. One of them is hearing the phrase “Nihongo ga jōzu desu ne” (Your Japanese is good) when speaking with a Japanese person.

The Japanese language is known for ambiguity, and one should consider not only what is being said but also what isn’t being said.

It’s a given you’ve heard this phrase often if you’re a Japanese-speaking foreigner in Japan. Also, regardless of your Japanese level, it can be difficult for foreign speakers to express themselves in Japanese, so being told “Nihongo ga jōzu desu ne” can be confusing. Is it a compliment or does it have some other meaning?

Personal Experience

The most common interpretation of this phrase is that Japanese people are just happy you speak the language. While this is true, through my own experience and research I found there are other layers of meaning to this phrase.

When I first came to Japan, people would always say “Nihongo ga jōzu desu ne” and I always thought it meant Japanese people were just happy I could speak their language. I never considered they complimented me because they could not speak English. For me, it was a given that I live in their country and should speak their language.

However, one time it was said condescendingly to me and from it changed my perspective until recently. I used to teach a group of elderly Japanese ladies whom I also spent time with outside of lessons, so there was an exchange of both English and Japanese. My Japanese was still clumsy and one day while conversing with one of these ladies I was having trouble clearly expressing my thoughts.

When she responded with a condescending “Nihongo ga jōzu desu ne” a light bulb went on in my mind! I was like “Oh! This phrase must mean my Japanese is bad!” It made me realize all this time I had not been “reading the air” (空気が読めない) and that perhaps others who had said it had it meant the same thing.

That was my belief until recently when one day I ran into the maintenance staff who struck up a conversation with me which inevitably led to the dreaded, “Nihongo ga jōzu desu ne.” I thought, “Oh not again!” I was so annoyed that I mentioned it to my husband who is Japanese. Surprisingly, he provided a different outlook on the meaning, which changed how I understand this expression. More on this later.

The Foreigner’s Perspective

After encountering this phrase again recently, then hearing my husband’s perspective, I began to think about the various meanings behind “Nihongo ga jouzu desu ne.”

So, to understand better I asked various foreign friends about their thoughts. This is what they said.

  • Japanese people like their standard phrases; this is just one of them.
  • If Japanese people think your Japanese is good, they will express it in other ways.
  • It is not a compliment, but a way to encourage foreigners and give them the confidence to speak Japanese.
  • Most likely Japanese people don’t hear foreigners speak a lot of Japanese, so they are genuinely surprised when they hear it and therefore say “Nihongo ga jōzu desu ne.”

Based on their answers, it seems most foreigners do not view this as a true compliment, but rather as just another element of Japanese culture where catchphrases such as お疲れ様です and よろしくお願いします are a part of everyday life.

In addition, the expression is also a sign of respect because they are excited you speak their language and they feel grateful you are competent where they are lacking.

It is also a way to encourage foreigners and give them the confidence to speak Japanese. So really what has been uncovered here is that “Nihongo ga jōzu desu ne” is not so much a compliment but a sign of gratitude and respect. Let’s see the Japanese results of my research.

The Japanese Perspective

In addition to my foreign friends, I also consulted Japanese connections about their thoughts and feelings when they use “Nihongo ga jōzu desu ne” here’s what they shared:

  • From my husband’s perspective, they are ashamed they can’t speak English (a foreign language) well, so they want to compliment the foreigner for doing in their language what they cannot do in the foreigner’s language.
  • They genuinely respect the foreigner for being able to speak Japanese even if it is not much or very skilled.
  • These days English is common, and most people can speak English, so when foreigners understand what is being said, even when I’m speaking at a normal speed, and can respond not only in their language but also in Japanese, I really feel “Nihongo ga jouzu desu ne.”

Japanese people may not be able to communicate in your language, which makes them feel ashamed because foreigners at least make an effort to communicate in Japanese (it doesn’t matter how well or poor) but they cannot reciprocate in the other language. Foreigners understand this on a more basic level as seen above.

Also, it is a sign of respect for the efforts made in studying and learning Japanese regardless of their level or ability. This also connects to the element of respect in that they are also grateful for these efforts. Everyone likes to think their native language is special, but Japanese is rightfully so in that compared to other languages such as English and Spanish, not many people speak it. So, there is also certain awe for foreigners speaking Japanese which is connected to the elements of respect and gratitude in that not only are foreigners speaking a less common language, but Japanese are also grateful for foreigners being so deeply interested in their language.

In short, almost every Japanese-speaking foreigner will encounter this expression at some point in their time here. While I was unfortunate to have a negative experience with this phrase, it is a rather rare one. Whatever the meaning behind the expression is, it includes some level of respect, gratitude, and perhaps awe for your efforts in learning Japanese.

--

--

Melissa Komatsu
Japonica Publication

I like sharing my experiences with others and am really happy if they help others in their own lives. Overall, I just want to have a positive impact!