Fall Madly In Love With Yourself

Jasmine L Thomas-Bridges, Ed. S.
Jasmine L. Thomas
Published in
3 min readDec 30, 2017

When we think of relationships in spiritual terms, we sometimes only think of God and others. Truthfully, who do you spend the most time with?

Yourself.

You deal with you more than anyone else.

Guess what? If you don’t focus on building a solid relationship with yourself, then you will miss out on becoming a better version of you. You will always stay the same and never see different results.

We can go to God and ask Him to change us, but He desires for us to make choices for ourselves. He gives us the power from the Holy Spirit to become everything He has called us to.

How can you make the change to become who you really want to be?

Start with falling madly in love with yourself.

Self-love is the act of giving to create a better you. Most people think it is absolutely selfish to love yourself. Why? If you don’t love you, who will other than God?

In order for anyone to desire to love you, they have to find something attractive about you. You can go ahead and put on all the make up you want, get the surgery, and so on. But that doesn’t make you attractive to the right people who are meant to love you. The attraction others will see in you is your character.

Who you are on the inside speaks louder than what you give off visually.

One way to show yourself love is to start affirming who you are.

At my lowest point in life, I wrote out a list of “I AM” statements to encourage my own self.

I would say “I am content with the portion God has given to me. I am a godly woman who empowers others. I am the most disciplined person in exercise and work ethic.” This list would go on and on. As I stated these every single day, I started to watch myself become that exact woman. It was the most beautiful process.

I started to love myself so much more because of who I became.

Another way you can show love to yourself is by simply taking the time to prioritize you.

I have a solid morning routine that I do not let be interrupted, except for extreme emergencies. I will not answer my phone, emails, or social media requests prior to finishing my routine. It is essential I have that hour to focus on my dreams, goals, and aspirations.

It doesn’t stop there.

I prioritize getting a monthly massage, getting my nails done, and taking vacations regularly. I don’t feel bad about taking that time or money to spend on myself. I am important to my family, businesses, and ministry. If I don’t take the time for me, they will only get the crumbs of what I have to offer.

Oprah Winfrey said something that truly changed my life — “You should be so full of yourself that your cup runs over enough to give to others.” It should not be the other way around.

Ready to Upgrade?

If you’re looking to up level your entire life, then go ahead and follow me on Facebook or Instagram for free daily inspiration!

--

--

Jasmine L Thomas-Bridges, Ed. S.
Jasmine L. Thomas

I help creative, soulful entrepreneurs scale from $0-$100k/year with spiritual energetics✨💸