My Blogging Journey with Data Science!!

Himani Bansal
Javarevisited
Published in
3 min readSep 3, 2019

“Words are our most inexhaustible source of Magic!”

Since my childhood, I was a technology freak, a smart and hard-working kid. During my school days, one thing was pretty clear in my head that I want to become a data scientist(and the reason was it sounds pretty cool 🤓).

At that time it seems to be a hard cookie to crack, but I decided what I wanna do so I completed my computer science graduation along with this there was one thing I love the most is reading blogs about data science that helped be a lot. I have gone through several Data science blogs that’s how I got motivated and decided to write blogs.

“Remember, It is hard to stop only when you start writing”

I started blogging in October of 2017 and I still remember my first Data Science Blog was a disaster😂, I shared my learning journey through my blogs, there were a lot of ups and downs but I have learned the basics of writing a blog and it helped me a lot!! Since then I have written numerous blogs and found that it has accelerated my learning and also experienced some really vital benefits to writing about data science.

The Perfect Start-

At that time, Medium seems to be the best platform where I could put down my ideas and have people read about them. I remember it was March of 2018, I reuse some of my blogs on medium and through which I gained some views and followers, One of my articles got more than 40K it was trending on medium and here I realize that medium gonna be the best platform to start putting up my ideas to the world.

What happened next-

So, In December 2018 I have seen the failure again and again my articles got rejected by so many publications and views were going down then I realized that it’s time to work on plan B, and I change my writing strategy/approach. And some changes that I have done were

  • Worked on my Data Science skills- I know that my articles needed more core technical knowledge. So I worked on my technical skills and I remember that amazing I have gone through some amazing data science tutorials, these tutorials help me the most.
  • Using images and Gif when possible- I use images to explain certain concepts. The image captures the reader’s attention and it’s easy to understand through images because we are visual beings!! 😆
  • Using Quotes, bullet points and some other things like this to make my blogs more interesting.

This approach helped me, I gain new followers and experienced a good hike in my stats.

Benefits that I observe of writing data science blogs-

  1. I have seen an accelerated in my learning. A better understanding of data science skills and technical knowledge.
  2. Improvement in my communication skills since I started writing blogs.
  3. The cycle of becoming better is: do work, share, listen, improve, and repeat.

Conclusion-

Writing is a skill and it takes time to master. All you have to do is start writing and keep learning results will come. If people don’t like your first post just don’t give up. You will be surprised to know that there are some people who are eagerly waiting for your next post, don’t disappoint them. Good luck! The more you learn the more you earn!!

If you are interested in learning more about Data Science then here are a few more articles and resources to explore:

All the best with your Data Science journey.

--

--

Himani Bansal
Javarevisited

Doing my Best to Explain Data Science (Data Scientist, technology freak & Blogger)