Roman To Integer (Leetcode Problem #13)

Java Solution for https://leetcode.com/problems/roman-to-integer/

Suraj Mishra
Javarevisited

--

Youtube Video
If you prefer video format : https://youtu.be/BC-mHuUAaZA

Understanding Problem

input_x = "LVIII"
output_x = 58
L = 50; V=5; III=3
  • There some facts about roman numerals. They are usually written from largest to smallest. In above example L is larger than V.
  • There some instances mentioned below where subtraction is used.
  • I can be placed before (V & X); X can be placed before (L & C); C can be placed before (D & M).
  • So four is not written lie IIII , rather it is written as IV.

My Thought About Solution

  • I can convert roman numeral string to char array.
  • Since generally roman numerals are written largest to smallest usually except some cases where subtraction is needed, I can just check the case that if current char value is greater than next char value, if yes than i can…

--

--

Suraj Mishra
Javarevisited

Staff Software Engineer @PayPal ( All opinions are my own and not of my employer )