How we used the Facebook Page Plugin to dramatically increase interaction with our website users

Jonathan Hillebrand
Jaysquared
Published in
2 min readApr 4, 2017

In every business communication with your potential customers is key. The barrier to contact you should be as low as possible. But so should be the effort to answer the customer requests.

After years of using email as the main support channel, I recently switched to instant messaging solutions. My users love it, but best of all I love it. And that’s because it’s a fast and easy dialogue instead of long message exchanges. The short and fast nature of instant messages makes it easy to quickly respond without the hassle of the more formal email. I can also quickly ask follow up questions.

Another key success factor is direct integration in your app or website. I use the Smooch instant messaging plugin for my mobile apps and today I integrated the Facebook Page Plugin into one of my websites.

Unobstrusive, yet easy to access, contact button

I combined the Facebook Page Plugin with the jQuery TabSlideOut Plugin to achieve this integration. Took around 10 minutes including some CSS styling.

Now if you click the button, you can instantly message us via Facebook Messenger and we can effortlessly start a conversation.

Expanded Facebook Page Plugin

If you want the plugin for your page, I prepared an example Facebook Page Plugin Slider.

You can create the Facebook Page plugin directly on their website. Here are the settings I used. I you want to change the dimensions, make sure you also change it in the slider css.

Facebook Page Plugin Settings

Thanks to Smooch, I connected my Facebook page to Slack and I receive all support requests there and can collaborate with my team mates. Everyone sees all requests and our answers and we can even include private comments.

Slack integration

Adding an easy instant messaging channel dramatically increased user interaction, but still needs less time than the former emails. Happy customers. Happy entrepreneurs :)

--

--

Jonathan Hillebrand
Jaysquared

App Entrepreneur / Travel Geek / Foodie / Wine Lover / Escaped Investment Banking