Bringing Diversity to Reading

Jared Taylor
Jared Taylor

--

I recently realized that a majority of the books I’ve read over the last few years were authored by white men.

So, I’ve decided to bring intention to my reading habits. The goal: acquaint myself with more diverse authors and their stories.

I’ll do this by implementing something I’m calling the Reading Rule of Thirds.

Here’s how it works. The authors whose books I read, will be:

  • 33% people of color
  • 33% women
  • 33% white men

This framework provides some flexibility. The basic idea is for every book I read by a white male, I must read two by authors who are not.

The hope is that this new habit expands my mind and helps me take in new perspectives.

You can track what I’m reading here.

--

--

Jared Taylor
Jared Taylor

Employee experience at Edelman. Organizational psychologist. Mindfulness teacher. Student of life. Human being.