How to Start Your Next Meeting

Jared Taylor
Jared Taylor
Published in
2 min readFeb 26, 2018

--

At work, do you ever feel yanked from meeting to meeting? From meeting to project? From project to an endless number of emails?

I do. And many of my colleagues do as well.

Over the last several months I’ve integrated a simple tool into the meetings I lead, that has changed the dynamic in the room. The result is a more productive, civilized meeting.

Early on, while experimenting with this tool, I decided to try it out in a debrief meeting with our senior team. While the exercise ended up taking half of the hour we had together, the remaining 30 minutes was unlike any meeting I’ve attended before with this group.

So, what is this superpower tool?

It’s called rounds. And it’s built on a simple idea that everyone in the room should be heard.

Rounds consist of going around the room, giving everyone an opportunity to answer a question or provide feedback on an idea. One by one. Without any interruption.

It works best in smaller meetings, from 8–10 people max.

There are many ways to use rounds. They can be great for starting meetings — to provide a transition into the meeting. I like to start my meetings with a round, asking everyone to briefly answer a simple question:

What has your attention right now?

There is no right way to answer. It could be work or personal. Oftentimes, what has people’s attention has nothing to do with the meeting at hand.

I’ve heard responses like:

I’m thinking about my sick child at home,”

I just came from a tense budget meeting,”

I’m distracted by the deadline I have to hit later today.”

This short practice does two things.

  1. It helps people connect. To see others as human beings with struggles, challenges, highs and lows. It provides a space to be a little vulnerable and open up, building trust within a team. A little empathy goes a long way!
  2. It helps everyone focus. It’s an opportunity for everyone to leave his or her baggage at the door. The simple act of talking out loud about what has your attention helps clear your mind and focus on being present.

Full credit for this idea goes to August — a forward-thinking, innovative consulting firm in Brooklyn.

--

--

Jared Taylor
Jared Taylor

Employee experience at Edelman. Organizational psychologist. Mindfulness teacher. Student of life. Human being.