My farewell to Disney

Jared Taylor
Jared Taylor
Published in
2 min readMay 17, 2020

After giving my notice to Disney — my employer of nine years, the place I grew up as an adult post-college — I spent significant time and energy crafting my farewell email. How do you say goodbye to a place that shaped your identity and became an extension of your family over nearly a decade?

I decided to write a deeply personal email that connected my experiences at the company to the people who touched my life. Over many iterations and rounds of feedback, I articulated how I felt about my time at Disney, my colleagues, and the work I was privileged to do there.

I’m proud of where I netted out. I hope you enjoy.

Subject line: You make our culture
Date: May 11, 2020

We have a remarkable culture here at Disney Channels.

Yes, there will always be things to improve. But after speaking with colleagues outside and across the company over the years, I can say without a doubt that we have something special here. And it’s not because of a singular role, initiative, or program. It’s because of our people. You are the owners of our culture. How you show up, work together, and care for each other is what sets us apart.

You make this place remarkable.

While I will always be grateful to have had the opportunity to work with every one of you and to have played a small part in shaping our culture, it’s time for a new challenge. Next week, I’m joining the Employee Experience team at HP to help lead culture transformation initiatives across their business. Fun fact: in addition to being one of HP’s largest customers, Disney was HP’s first customer (HP’s technology calibrated sound systems for the release of Fantasia in 1940). I’d like to think this connection means I’ll remain a part of the extended Disney family.

This new opportunity, and the work we have done together over the last nine years, was possible because people repeatedly took chances on me.

Dennis Goggin and Robin Faerber took a risk by hiring me as a temp on the programming team out of college. Years later, David Cobb, Sean Cocchia, and Gary Marsh believed that a culture-focused role was a priority, and gave it to me despite my inexperience. Though we come from different backgrounds, Marina Barreto built a meaningful and vibrant partnership with me from day one.

If I leave you with anything, it is this: experience is overrated.

Take risks on others.
Look for character and potential over experience.
Partner with those who are different than you.

If you want to think outside the box, don’t try to check all the boxes.

Thank you for taking a chance on me.

Jared

--

--

Jared Taylor
Jared Taylor

Employee experience at Edelman. Organizational psychologist. Mindfulness teacher. Student of life. Human being.