Random Acts of Kindness

Jared Taylor
Jared Taylor

--

Three years ago, in a conversation with my new boss, we were discussing the importance of kindness at work. He encouraged me to think about ways we could perform “random acts of kindness” for our people. When I got back to my desk, I wrote it on a sticky note. It has remained on my computer monitor ever since.

It has served as a reminder for me both personally and professionally over the years. Small acts of kindness matter. What makes them random is that they’re unconditional. They’re unexpected. Though they may appear small, they oftentimes have a ripple effect, touching the lives of many more people than you realize.

At this moment in history, random acts of kindness matter.

So pick up the phone and offer gratitude. Write a letter to an old friend. Wave to a stranger across the street.

Do something kind for yourself. Take a bath. Read a book. Treat yourself.

Every little act makes a difference.

“Now more than at any time in our history, we will be judged by our capacity for compassion. When this is over, and it will be over, we want to look back on this moment & remember the many small acts of kindness, done by us and to us.”

— Rishi Sunak

--

--

Jared Taylor
Jared Taylor

Employee experience at Edelman. Organizational psychologist. Mindfulness teacher. Student of life. Human being.