Heal the World, Cook Dinner Tonight

Cooking with love and hope

Jean Anne Feldeisen
Jean’s in the Kitchen

--

photo courtesy of the author, cupcakes by Megan

Making mayonnaise in the rain

It was my 70th birthday and I had decided to give a party. I bought a tent, borrowed tables and chairs, and planned a menu with only food that I especially loved. My friends Don and Argy volunteered their beautiful lawn and gardens as a setting and helped with everything.

My family went to a lot of trouble moving and lifting tables and chairs, erecting tents and cooking my favorite foods. I had set out some posters that were a kind of pictorial retrospective of highlights of my life. I sent invitations to about 35 guests. I was happy about the whole thing. It was just what I wanted.

Everything was complete except for the last minute things- making mayonnaise to mix with lobster for the lobster salad. Painting my toenails. Setting out the glassware on the bar, buying and chilling the beer. Just a few last-minute things.

Unfortunately, it was raining. Not just a polite occasional shower, though there were some of those. Most of it was a hard, right-down-your-neck, driving kind of rain. And things were not going smoothly in the kitchen.

I broke the bright orange yolks into the bowl of the food processor, added dry mustard and salt and began slowly adding the oil. My…

--

--

Jean Anne Feldeisen
Jean’s in the Kitchen

I've got my fingers in way too many pots. Cook, writer, poet, reader, musician, therapist, dreamer, a transplant from New Jersey suburbs to a farm in Maine.