International Christmas Cookie Assortment

Hooked on baking cookies

Jean Anne Feldeisen
Jean’s in the Kitchen

--

Photo courtesy of the author

Every Christmas Eve for many years our good friends Don Kleiner and Argy Nestor and their family arrived from Maine to stay at our house for the holidays. Using our place as home base, they spent the holidays with their two families and lots of between times with us.

Often Argy would bring Kahlua and Cream, and some Saga Blue Cheese and add them to our Spanakopeta and Fruit Salad and Raisin Swirl bread and, of course, cookies. I always saved some Finger cookies for Donald and Chocolate Nut Fudge for Argy.

By then I would have mostly finished delivering the holiday cookies but would save one box to drop off on Christmas Eve to “Mrs. Sterling”. This last delivery became a holiday tradition.

A homemaker to aspire to

I got along pretty well with my mother-in-law from the start, though I didn’t get really interested in what she knew, or what she could teach me about cooking until after Don and I had been married for a while and we moved into the house down the street from her.

There were many things about Elsie Feldeisen that were different from my mother. One of the good things, was that she did enjoy cooking, and made really good meals, with seasonings (tongue-in-cheek, here) and other…

--

--

Jean Anne Feldeisen
Jean’s in the Kitchen

I've got my fingers in way too many pots. Cook, writer, poet, reader, musician, therapist, dreamer, a transplant from New Jersey suburbs to a farm in Maine.