The Value of my Russian Language Tutor

Jeff Suwak
Jeff Suwak’s Existential Burlesque
3 min readNov 21, 2020

--

Photo by Artiom Vallat on Unsplash

I’ve been studying the Russian language for over two years. The progress (or lack thereof) has been frequently painful and rarely rewarding.

I’m fascinated by the Russian language for reasons I can’t fully explain. I don’t have any practical reason to study the language. I don’t even have any concrete plans (nor even vague ones right now) to visit Russia.

Russian literature is among my favorite of the world’s literatures. Nikolai Gogol’s Dead Souls is a work of genius that has continually amazed me from my very first read. I also find the Russian alphabet fascinating for some inexplicable reason.

Image borrowed from the Russian Language Learning Club.

Still, all those explanations considered, it’s really a mystery to me why I feel so drawn to master Russian. I just do.

I’ve used three different Russian-language training books and two different software programs. I’ve listened to Russian music. I’ve watched Russian movies.

I definitely learned, but nowhere near as quickly as I’m accustomed to learning. Honestly, the Russian language has been kicking my ass.

--

--