Relook my Research Question

Jeffrey Chou
Sustainable Everday
2 min readFeb 3, 2019

--

At the end of the last semester, I have presented the findings for my thesis studies so far. The feedback I got made me kind of lost in the space. I will need to readdress the problem space I am currently working on within a limited amount of time. As a result, Stacie helped me conduct a whiteboard session to clarify the direction for this semester.

How can food-related everyday practice be designed to encourage the exploration of sustainable food choices to improve people’s knowledge and use of food literacy?

  • Food-related practice -> What practice -> What are the components of steps -> Which one to intervene, why? -> What makes a good intervention point?
  • Be designed -> What form? What is the value of being collaborative?
  • Encourage exploration -> Motivation
  • Food literacy -> Knowledge

Suggested Next Step

  1. Review current practices
  2. Define places to intervene
  3. Brainstorm ideas (That do motivation&knowledge) to address problems (Components)
  4. Create Prototypes
  5. Test
  6. Revise
  7. Final Prototypes (Collective Functions as a whole)

Considerations that I should take while moving forward

  • Review current practice: Trying to analyze through social practice theory (meaning, skill, object, and their interconnections) and disassemble the practice into components.
  • Places for intervention: When does everyday practice become vulnerable? Who is the change-ready group?
  • Ideas: How to encourage motivation? What knowledge should be taught? Could object (form) embed with knowledge?
  • Test: What is the heuristic for testing?

--

--