I watched all of “The Vampire Diaries” & “The Originals” & “Legacies”

My takeaways from 15 seasons of vampires, witches and werewolves hooking up

Jeff's Film & TV Reviews
Jeff’s Film & TV Reviews

--

This is not an attempt to summarize the three series and the entire universe they built. There is plenty of content on the internet that explains all the story arcs and confusing timelines. The following are some of my main takeaways from the three series through 2020.

Uniqueness is exciting, parody may work, repetition is boring
The first season of “The Vampire Diaries” felt too much like “Twilight,” and I did not enjoy it. As it grew into its own, I could appreciate the story and the characters. Unfortunately, I think it lasted too long and began to repeat itself which became quite boring and stifling.

“The Originals” and the mythology behind the Mikaelson family was refreshing. Though there was some resonance of “Underworld” in there, I thoroughly enjoyed the possibilities. At times, however, the timeline and locale of their history didn’t make much sense. This also was true of their accents, of course, which can be a critique on all three series. The CW seemed to go with “British-sounding” as the way to convey “sophisticated with European descent.”

--

--