Blog Posts Against Trump for People Who Won’t Read Them

Jeremy Keeshin
Jeremy Keeshin
Published in
2 min readJul 25, 2016

--

I’ve read many blog posts arguing against Trump and they’ve presented a very compelling case. They’ve convinced me. He’s a racist and a sexist and a nativist and a demagogue and unfit to be the president of the US. That’s not the problem: the problem is that the people who we need to convince aren’t reading those blog posts.

The anti-Trump blog posts and articles and tweets are just convincing people who are against Trump anyways. I get the sense that the people who are supporting Trump or not voting aren’t reading these posts. Given that both our in-person physical communities and internet communities are so divided, what do we do here? I think the group of people in my Facebook feed and people I know is 99% non-Trump. So anything posted there isn’t convincing anyone.

Say you are liberal, and maybe know just a few Trump people. Most people I know just won’t even have that dialogue because it doesn’t go anywhere. But then we’re left talking politics with people who already agree with us. So my question is: what do you do about this?

My best guess is to go and find those two people you know who really disagree and try to have a really patient, respectful conversation. What do you think?

--

--

Jeremy Keeshin
Jeremy Keeshin

CEO and co-founder at @CodeHS // Author Read Write Code // previously founded the Flipside