Some Notes from Jordan

Jeremy Keeshin
Jeremy Keeshin
Published in
2 min readMay 9, 2019

I had a quick trip to Jordan on my way from Egypt. I wanted to see Petra. So I flew in from Cairo to Amman, Jordan. Jordan was crazy expensive — I was not expecting that. The few days in Jordan were more expensive than my entire trips to some other countries. This was mostly because I was going to Petra, which is quite an expensive site. I drove first from Amman down to Petra, which took about three and a half hours.

It’s a nice spot to visit. You walk through and there is a gorge which makes up the entrance. The most iconic spot in Petra is an area called the Treasury. This site became famous because it appeared in Indiana Jones.

I didn’t really know much about Jordan before going. Jordan is an Arabic country like Egypt, but everything seemed much calmer there. It seems like tourism is quite important for Jordan, and I wonder, for people who have not been there: what is your conception of Jordan? Because I think if you haven’t been to a place you fill it with assumptions or misconceptions. It seems to me, based on some discussions I had with people there, that this has negatively affected tourism to Jordan. It may get grouped in with other countries that are no-visit zones for US citizens.

--

--

Jeremy Keeshin
Jeremy Keeshin

CEO and co-founder at @CodeHS // Author Read Write Code // previously founded the Flipside