Dear Marquette

Aaron Jay Ledesma
Jesuit Educated
Published in
2 min readSep 14, 2015

--

Dear Marquette,

If you haven’t heard, I’m going to the White House on September 23!

Since the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel first shared my story, other news publications have reached out to learn more: Fox, CBS, AP and more. Many of them mentioned that I was a Marquette grad, but they didn’t dive into what that truly meant… what it means to me to be a Golden Eagle.

Marquette welcomed me.
From the moment I arrived on campus for a tour, I knew this was where I belonged.

Tour guides, admissions counselors and many others were to quick to sell me on the fact the Marquette is different, and my college experience would be too.

They were right. From Preview (or orientation) to graduation, Marquette was my home and family, but it did more than provide me comfort.

Marquette challenged me.
One of the perks of attending a Jesuit university is that they challenge you to do more than study your major. They push you to learn and understand theology, philosophy, science, mathematics and writing.

Why? Because being well-rounded is important in life. When you’re able to graduate with knowledge beyond your major, you stand out above the competition and land a job you want.

How? Because employers know what a Jesuit education provides. They know what a Marquette degree stands for.

Marquette challenged me to do more than major in public relations. I was challenged:
To think outside the box.
To ask thought-provoking questions.
To discover life’s meaning.
To find myself.
To “Be the Difference.”

Marquette changed me.
Being Jesuit educated is different. It completely reshapes your life as a whole. Marquette changed me, my life and my understanding of the world around me.

I love that Marquette taught me Excellence, Faith, Leadership and Service. Learning these four pillars wasn’t always easy … it wasn’t supposed to be. That’s why it changed me.

Excellence guided me to professionalism.

Faith guided me back to the Church.

Leadership guided me to thrive during and after college.

Service guided me to be a man for others.

Thank you for guiding me through life, Marquette. I wouldn’t be the man I am today without you welcoming, challenging and changing me. You are the difference, not just for current student and alumni, but for me.

We Are… MARQUETTE!

— Aaron Jay Ledesma, Comm ’14

My name is Aaron.
I’m Catholic.
I’m Gay.
I’m Me.

Follow The Gay Catholic on Facebook and Twitter for updates and new stories.
To contact Aaron, please email him at
aaron.thegaycatholic@gmail.com.

--

--

Aaron Jay Ledesma
Jesuit Educated

Digital Creator: Inspiring communities + sparking action. #AnythingForSelenas