Unlocking the Magis: Pell Grant Program is Key to a College Degree

AJCU
Jesuit Educated
Published in
2 min readJun 23, 2022

By Bill Colona, Assistant Vice President for Government Relations, Federal and Urban Affairs at Fordham University

Central to who I am as a person, and a higher education professional, is my identity as a first generation college graduate. Growing up in my family, there was nothing more important than education and while I may have come from modest means, I came from a family where there was an overabundance of a desire to ensure I got the best education possible.

When it came time for me to choose where I wanted to go to college, I was interested in a few criteria: location, program offerings, cost and, most important: fit. When researching the best college for me, I was immediately drawn to the mission and culture of The University of Scranton, specifically its commitment to cura personalis, Magis, service and justice, and the overwhelming sense of community that prospective students are told about. I knew I wanted to be a student at Scranton, and the Pell Grant unlocked that opportunity for me.

I thrived at Scranton where I met my best friends (and future wife!), developed a passion for politics and government, and went on to earn my Master’s degree at Georgetown University. I then landed a job in the United States Congress and now have the high honor of advocating for strengthening financial aid programs on behalf of current and future students at Fordham University. None of that would have been possible if not for the Pell Grant program.

Like many college students, I had to get a part-time job to supplement my income. That limited the number of internship opportunities I could pursue. Had there been additional Pell Grant support, I would have been less worried about the cost of college and been more able to experience additional educational opportunities afforded by internships.

But putting those challenges aside, I remain steadfast in my conviction that the single most effective way for Congress to unlock opportunity and potential for more students in the United States is by making significant investments in the time-honored and tested Pell Grant program.

--

--

AJCU
Jesuit Educated

Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities (AJCU)