2018 in Preview: What we’re looking forward to

A list of some of the things our team is excited about in 2018.

Eduardo Nunes
You Might Also Like
7 min readFeb 20, 2018

--

It’s the third and final part of our year-in-review series. In the previous two, we’ve looked back at our consumer and personal highlights, but it’s time to look forward now, so we’ve asked everyone in the team to list the things they’re excited about for 2018. TL;DR: a lot of traveling, major sports events, tech upgrades, side projects and cryptocurrencies. Read on for more… 👇

Previously on You Might Also Like: 2017 in Review, Part 1: Our consumer highlights & 2017 in Review, Part 2: Our personal highlights

Dennis

I really look forward to traveling around this year. Experience new cities and places.

Also to get closer to the “perfect” work setup even if its a never-ending project. On the software side, I’m getting close to a nice setup with Vim + Tmux with my own custom color scheme that I hopefully can release during this year. Hardware wise I really like my pink 12" Macbook Adorable and got it on the Nexstand K2 to get some better ergonomics. I miss my mechanical keyboard but the Apple wireless one works until I find a nice wireless mechanical keyboard and I pair it with a Logitech G602 that seems to have a battery life close to forever.

I look forward to seeing the Nintendo Switch game library expand, there’s a few on my list after I’m done with Zelda: Breath of the Wild. Dark Souls and the Bayonetta series are up directly after but I’m excited to see where the growing indie market takes it on Switch. Just heard about a bunch of indie titles that will be ported including Cluster Trucks which I been meaning to play for quite some time now, until then Zelda and Stardew Valley is my jam.

Raymall

CrossFit Games: The Open

Looking forward to my first competition to put on test what has been a 10 month journey.

Full Tech Upgrade?

New Macbook Pro, Apple Watch, HomePod, AirPods, new TV, Nintendo Switch, Sonos One Speakers, who knows? the sky and my credit card are the limit!

Italy & France Trip

Made a promise to my girl to take her to Italy and France, I think it’s time to fulfil that promise.

Company Trip

Per joked it could be somewhere in the snowy mountains of Europe and I began watching Snowboarding tutorials, but either way I’m always excited to spend some quality time with my colleagues.

Osvaldas

Road trips

Road trips is one of my favourite methods of discovering new places. Of course it has its limits, but it’s almost perfect if you want to explore your continent “with magnifying glass”. I haven’t had any few-thousand kilometre long trips by car in a while and feeling it’s about time to finally have one. Central-Southern Europe is under my radar this time which means I might be able to bring Šakotis to some of my colleagues.

Books

2017 has been a year of collecting various books without getting a chance to read the most of them. 2018 is a year of bringing a status quo between me and my bookshelf.

FIBA WorldCup 2018

The past two tournaments weren’t quite hospitable — national basketball team of Lithuania failed to win medals in both Eurobasket 2017 and Rio Olympics 2016. We have a joke in the country saying we’re a nation of three million basketball coaches, because everybody has their own recipe to wining a tournament. But that’s not an ultimate goal — we are totally fine with memorable moments and completely satisfied with any type of medal. Looking forwarding to seeing how this year settles in the history.

Ivan

Half marathon

This year I started running — about 3–4 times a week. But without proper goal it won’t last long (I already know myself). My interim goal is to complete (I don’t have any specific time in my mind yet) a 10K run, but the real one is a half marathon.

New computer

I’m torn on buying a new MacBook Pro, or keep the old one and go with an iMac. 99% of the time I’m working from home anyway, and the iMac 5K has a pretty good display as a “bonus”, too. I was going to buy a new screen as well and iMac combines the two.

Ricardo

Cryptocurrencies

2017 has been a great year so far regarding cryptocurrencies, with the boom of Bitcoin, Ethereum, and other dozens of currencies. So far lots of promising products and developments have been promised and forecasted, 2018 is the year I hope to see these in production and with actual use.

Nikolay

Cryptocurrencies

Like my colleague Ricardo, I’m super-excited about what the world of Blockchain technology will bring to the table in 2018. A lot of exciting promises have been made for 2018 and now it’s time to see their realisation and wether the tech behind the cryptocurrencies can gain a foothold in our daily lives.

Side-projects

I’ve made a vow to myself that in 2018 I’d free up some time to experiment on some side-projects. I have a few ideas which have been collecting dust since ages, so this year I’m planning on giving them the attention they deserve. Working on a side-project always teaches you something new and they grant freedom of your own choice (be it design-related or just what tech to use to build them). This step-back from my usual routine is always exhilarating and re-charging, so I can’t wait to dive in.

Filippos

Road Trip: Stockholm → Athens → Stockholm

That will be interesting! Visiting so many places in a span of 5–7 days for each trip. On the way down I ll go through Italy/Ankona but on the way up I will go through the Balkans and explore them a bit. Fortunately I have many places to stay on the way so it should be a (relatively) cheap trip as well.

Bike Trip: Stockholm → Uppsala

That’s should happen last year but didn’t unfortunately. This year I will definitely do it and aim for a longer trip next year!

Make my apartment smarter

I really want to become more engaged with the IoT world and I think 2018 is a good year to start. For starters, we need a fire alarm!

Per

The World Cup

I didn’t expect Sweden to qualify (who did?). But despite having a team with very little star quality, things went pretty good… It will probably be over at the group stage, but at least I can look forward to getting creative with the German, Mexican and South Korean cuisine like we do with the Italian.

A new MacBook Pro?

The last releases have been almost nothing but disappointment. Neither the gimmicky touch bar or the hardware has felt impressing to me… My current MBP is three years old, so it’s time for something new. Hopefully a purchase that leaves both me and Apple happy…

Leaving Sweden in February…

…And escaping to Portugal with the family for a couple of weeks. Good times will be had with my Portugal based colleagues Eduardo, Ricardo and Dennis.

Eduardo

Making more music

I’ve been setting up a nice little studio for myself, where I like to spend most of my free time after work producing music. One of my new year’s resolutions is to find more time to do it.

Playing football again

I used to play football 2 to 3 times a week, until a nasty ankle injury forced me to stop for a very long time. I’m hoping 2018 is the year I finally get back into it.

Meeting the team

Our yearly company trip is always one of the high points of my year, and I’m looking forward to the next one, but I’d really like to be able to meet up with the rest of the gang more than once a year. So this year I’ll try to pay them a visit, or invite them over to Braga (Dennis, Nikolay, Osvaldas and Per have been lured in already, so we’re halfway there).

FIFA World Cup

I love football so much that I’m willing to look past the money, the corruption, the faux-injuries, the time-wasting, the hooligan violence, the illegal betting, etc. to see a beautiful sport that I’m really looking forward to enjoying this summer, with good friends and a few cold beers.

World not ending…?

Unfortunately, I’m only half-joking. There are still a few things I’d like to do before we all get nuclear-bombed into oblivion, so I’m hoping that doesn’t happen for at least another year 🤞

And that’s a wrap! See you again (hopefully) next year!

Kollegorna is a team of designers, developers and strategists building first-rate digital products and services.

--

--

Eduardo Nunes
You Might Also Like

Full-time graphic designer, part-time noise maker. Head of Design at Stockholm-based Kollegorna.