How Composing music made my quarantine days more exciting

Aaron Meeran
Jetzy Travel Blog
Published in
3 min readAug 26, 2020

I sometimes think about what it was like when the quarantine first hit. I could describe it as bitter-sweet. I was quite salty about all my spring break plans being completely thrown out the window but at the same time I was glad that my semester was fully over. To me the completely online transition was more good news than bad news ( at least at first). I thought to myself “ this exactly what I need after an agonizing semester in college”. Not that I did terrible in school, but anyway that is besides point. I thought to myself that all this abundance of time is going to be amazing and I no longer have to keep an extremely strict schedule.

The first day of the quarantine happens and I still have my online classes, but since its transitioned completely online I no longer needed to balance school-work with clubs and after school involvements. Then 3 weeks go by and the semester ends. I think to myself now I am completely free!. Then a week goes by and I can’t help but feel the urge to do something productive. Doing absolutely nothing feels weird to me, because I am usually always occupied. I then go upstairs and turn on my laptop, thinking about something to do. I then open a music notation app called muse score and I pause for a minute and laugh to myself and say “maybe every cloud does have a silver lining”. It then dawned on me I haven’t composed music in so long simply because I have been so busy with college. An idea then came to me about a piece of music to compose. Since all of us were in the devastating situation of the quarantine I thought I should write a piece of music that makes one think of the most beautiful and sublime moments of their life. I named it the “stages of life “.

After having spent a week writing that piece I realized doing this activity will give me something to look forward to every single day. Even though the task may seem so daunting and tedious it was too damn rewarding ! But I wanted more than just a task or activity to look forward to. I wanted interaction with people! I knew that meeting people would not really be an option and I don’t want to be using apps like tinder or bumble. Because those are dating apps in which your intentions are clear. Either you are trying to hook up or date. However, I was curious if there is an app where you can simply meet people based on common interests. So my curiosity made me look for an app. After looking I found the app jetzy. It was a travel app that allowed you to meet people in countries based on similar interests. Even though traveling is not really the most popular activity right now , I realized this app would allow me to meet people near me who have similar interests. This was exactly what I needed, because I knew none that I could connect with about my passion for music composition. I encourage all of you to give jetzy ago right now ! It makes meeting people easier for those of us who have peculiar interests and in a pandemic like this it is very important for us to have people who we connect with.So…. what are you waiting for?! Check it out!

Jetzy is a global social network that connects and rewards people who enjoy travel and unique lifestyle experiences. To find out more useful local tips for travel, check out: https://www.jetzyapp.com/

--

--