Diamonds are Forever — Know How to Buy the Precious Stone

Diamond jewellery

Diamonds are forever, indeed! They are the ultimate symbol of all that is precious, so, am sure you are overwhelmed when you have to buy diamond, because of the process involved. Here’s a guide that will help you choose your diamonds and buy them:

One of the first questions you should ask yourself is what kind of diamond are you looking for: Are you looking for a diamond bracelet, a ring, ear rings? There is a wide variety in terms of patterns, from contemporary to tradition, so be sure what you want.

When you talk diamonds, you invariably come across the four Cs — cut, clarity, colour and carat.

Cut : The cut is the most important factor, as the brilliance of the diamond depends on the cut. It refers to the symmetry and proportions of the stone — it is the angle at which the precious stone is cut which determines the diamond’s ability to shine. A well-cut diamond allows light to enter and reflects from one side to another. A poorly cut one allows light to seep out of the sides and the bottom or limits the light. The cut of a diamond is not the same as the shape. A diamond is typically cut with 58 flat surfaces that allow maximum reflection of light. Ask for the cut grade of a diamond when you are buying. The grades include ideal cut, very good cut, good cut, fair cut and poor cut.

Clarity : Diamonds may have inclusions or flaws like air bubbles or some non-diamond material. There could be tiny blemishes, cracks, chips or pits. Blemishes on the surface could affect the clarity of a diamond, but some inside may have no impact. Clarity is determined by way of an international grading system. It includes:
FL: Flawless
IF: Internally flawless
VVS1/VVS2: Very very slightly included (difficult to spot even for skilled personnel)
Vs1/vs2: Very slightly included, which are minor flaws and have no impact on the beauty of the stone.
Sl1/Sl2: Slightly included, sometimes visible to the naked eye or under 10x magnification
L1, l2, l3: Included, which are clearly seen blemishes and impact clarity of diamond.

Colour : The best of diamonds are ones with no colour. The finest ones have a D rating. The rest are rated till Z, with the Z being a light yellow, gray or brown colour. The colour is indicative of some elements like nitrogen. The grading however doesn’t apply to diamonds that occur in natural shades of red, green, pink or blue, called fancies.

Carat : The weight of a diamond is measured in carats. The bigger the stone, the greater the carats and the price. One carat is equal to 200 mg. However, two diamonds of the same carat weight can have different prices and value because of the other three Cs.

Certification of diamond

Diamonds are certified by famed certifying labs. Certified diamonds have a grading report issued by the lab. The report will let you know that the diamond jewellery you are investing in is worth every rupee.