Types of Diamonds, Based on Purity, Cut, Weight, Color

If you are looking to buy diamonds, you are bound to be dazzled by the variety, and quite literally at that! Here is a short guide so you get an idea of the many varieties of diamonds available.

A ‘cut’ above the rest!

One of the four Cs that a diamond has come to be associated with is the cut. It is all about the symmetry, proportion and finish of a diamond. When a diamond is cut well, it is polished, symmetrical and makes an impact on the luster and its intensity. The manner in which light enters the precious stone and exits determines a diamond’s intensity.

The types of diamonds named on the basis of cuts are:

• Heart-cut
• Princess
• Cushion
• Oval
• Emerald
• Baguette
• Pear
• Radiant

Technically, all the above ones are shapes that are based on a specific cut. The types of cuts are categorized as ‘round brilliant’ cut, ‘fancy’ cut and ‘old diamond’ cut.
The round-brilliant cut makes sure the ability of a diamond to reflect back light is maximum. There is the ‘modified’ cut, which is also called ‘fancy’ because of some of the different shapes mentioned above. The ‘step diamond’ cut also creates fancy shapes, some of them being baguette and emerald. Old cuts include European, rose and minor, that are antique, and usually have a soft shine.

How pure?

A diamond is demarcated into several categories based on the clarity. Fewer the blemishes, the greater the clarity. They are divided into:
• FL or flawless, where there are no blemishes visible under a magnification of 10x.
• IF or internally flawless, where there are very tiny blemishes that are hardly or just about visible under a magnification of 10x.
• VVS1 and VVS2, or very very slightly included, wherein inclusions are difficult to be found under 10x.
• VS1and VS2 or very slightly included, wherein inclusions may be difficult to find under 10x, but don’t make any difference to the diamond’s beauty.
• Sl1 and Sl2 or slightly included, where you can notice inclusions under 10x, or with your bare eye.
• I1, 2 and 3 or included, wherein you can clearly notice inclusions under 10x, and could make an impact on the brilliance of the diamond.

Weighty matters!

A carat is the term used to quantify a diamond’s weight. A carat comprises 100 points. Also, one carat weighs 0.2 grams. The size of a diamond and its weight are not exactly proportionate.

In a million hues

The presence of certain trace elements adds colour to a diamond. Diamonds are graded by way of a scale wherein, D,E,F are colourless; G, H, I, J are nearly colourless; K, L, M are a pale yellow; N, O, P, Q, R are very pale yellow, and S to Z are lightly yellow. Diamonds are also available in many fancy hues, but they are not always natural ones. Choose your diamond jewellery on the basis of all the above factors, and dazzle the world!