What Our Children Can Teach Us about Gratitude

JCC of Staten Island
SIJCC VOICES
Published in
3 min readNov 30, 2016

The JCC initiated The Gratitude Project the 2nd week of November. With displays in all 3 buildings we have been overwhelmed by the response of our members. People stop and take a few moments to think about what they are grateful for in their lives. We have been regularly sharing people’s thoughts on our Facebook pages. We will continue this project until the end of the year.

We have some responses from the children of the Aberlin/North Shore Early Childhood Department and a few of their parents. Special thanks to Dawn Gallis, Early Childhood Education Coordinator who oversaw this project at the North Shore JCC.

Please take a few minutes to read the thoughts of the youngest among us. The simple things they are grateful for can both amuse and teach us adults just how simple gratitude can be.

Children

“I am thankful for my mom, dad, and sister and friends.”- Jallissa (PKA2)

“I say thank you for toys and watching TV”- Lawrence (PKA2)

“I’m thankful for my mom”- Maira (PKA2)

“I’m grateful for my mommy and Sadie because they are my best friends”- Prudence

“I’m grateful for my mommy and daddy because I love my mommy and daddy”.- Dylan

Gabriel is grateful for superheroes.

“I’m grateful for my dad, my mom and my grandma and my grandpa and my sister and my school and toys”- Yassen

“I am thankful for mom and dog Eva”- Julia (PKA2)

”I am thankful for my mom and dad and brothers and my sister dog, Tinkerbell”- Savannah (PKA2)

“I am grateful for my baby sister, my mommy, my daddy, my grandpa, my grandma. I love them”- Ayana

“I’m thankful for my mom, dad and Riley and Barty (my cat)”- Darren

“I am grateful for my family”- Evan

“I am thankful for my mom, and my dad and uncle Sammy and Sebastian, Chelsea and Sarai, and grandma & grandpa and Jose and Titi and Anthony”= Olivia (PKA2)

“I’m thankful for my shirts and my mom”- Jessica (PkA2)

“I am grateful for my house. I love my house. I love my mommy, Cody and Auntie Ethel”- Kristina

“I am grateful or my mommy, daddy, sister and Spanky”- Aiden

“I am thankful for food”- Prudence

“I’m grateful for my whole family”- Zaire

“I am thankful”- Dylan

“I’m thankful for my mom, my dad, my toys and my dog!”- Mia (PKA2)

“I am grateful for my brother, daddy and mom. Yes and all my trucks”. Aaron

“I am grateful for my mommy and daddy”- Dev

“I’m thankful for Mommy and toys” — Roman (PKA2)

Leah is Thankful for juice and ice cream.

“I’m thankful for my toys”- Liyana (PKA2)

“I’m thankful for my bed, my toys, my family and my dogs!”- Greyson (PKA2)

“I’m grateful for carrots. I like carrots”- Leah

“I’m thankful for my mommy and daddy because they’re so silly. Oh and my fish.” Gabriel (PKA2)

“I am grateful for my house and my family”. Aria

“I’m thankful for my mommy and daddy because I love them. We went to the show and mommy surprised me.”-

“I am grateful for my mommy and my daddy and my brother and my cats and my fish and my lizard.”- Julian

“I am thankful for my mommy and daddy because I like to dress up like a princess.”- Rose

“I‘m thankful for my mom, dad, Riley, Barty and my t.v.”-

“I am grateful for my house and I like my family”.

“I am grateful for my mommy, my daddy and my brother and books.”- Sara

“I’m grateful for my mommy, daddy, my baby, my grandpa, my grandma, my aunt.”- Alexandra

“I am grateful for my mommy, daddy, grandma, two sisters.”- Rasheedah

“I’m so thankful for my mommy, my daddy, and my baby.” Franco (PKA2)

“I’m grateful for my dog bambina. She go ruff ruff. Bambina roll in the grass. She needs a bath.”- Toni

“I’m grateful for my family.” — Kaylee

“I am grateful for daddy because Christopher goes to school and daddy drops him off”- Skylar

Parents

“I am grateful for my family and health”. Heather

“We are grateful for Leah and Gabriel being happy children.”- Mommy & Daddy

“I am thankful for every day”-

“I am grateful for my wonderful children, Evan & Kaylee!!”

“I am grateful for my mom, my dad, my family, and most important my sister.” — Jalissa — Jallissa’s sister

--

--