Kayla Chandler on learning community organizing through a Jewish lens

JCUA’s Or Tzedek internship for teens empowers young Jewish leaders across Chicagoland

Jonathan Elbaz
Jewish Council on Urban Affairs
3 min readApr 14, 2020

--

Kayla Chandler is participating in the Jewish Council on Urban Affairs’ Or Tzedek organizing internship for teens in Chicagoland. The program aims to empower young Jewish leaders with the skills, knowledge and inspiration needed to pursue social change through a Jewish lens. The internship, which meets twice a month from September to May, offers participants the opportunity to: strengthen their understanding of social justice and systems of oppression from a root cause perspective; build skills to organize for social change in coalition with communities across Chicago; cultivate teens’ Jewish identity and values by connecting Judaism and social justice.

Applications are now open for 2020–2021! Learn more and apply.

How have you grown or changed as a person through Or Tzedek?

Well something I initially thought of with this question was that the program showed me how to commit myself to something, because I feel like a lot of the time I would be interested in doing a program, but I wouldn’t know how to stay involved. Doing Or Tzedek, you have to meet once a month, and in addition, you meet outside of the meetings. And you can choose what you want to go to, so that helped me with time management.

Another important thing about Or Tzedek is that a lot of the things that JCUA works on or we learn about don’t necessarily involve Judaism, so it was interesting to learn that I can be part of this program and not every single thing would be centered around Judaism, but more about the value of how to help other people.

What’s one thing you’ve learned this year that you want to take with you?

I met a lot of great new people through the program, and I learned that we can all help each other regardless of who we are and what our backgrounds are or what we’re going through. We can all find our passion for what we want to do and help each other achieve those goals.

So you’ve created a really welcoming and supportive space for each other?

Yeah, exactly!

Which JCUA campaign has resonated with you most and why?

For me, I would have to say the campaign to erase the Chicago Gang Database, because it was really shocking to learn that you aren’t even notified when you’re on it. I was always thinking about how maybe someone I know could be on it and they don’t even know, and they couldn’t ever get off of it. So that was something really scary to me. Especially in Chicago, where there is such segregation in the city, it just contributes.

What is something you would like to change about Chicago?

The racial injustice and segregation between the north and south side of Chicago. I know both sides of the city have really amazing people and it would just be so nice if we could interact with each other, but as of now, it’s really divided.

How would students like you benefit from a program like Or Tzedek?

You really learn how to make time for something that you’re passionate about, even though students my age tend to be really busy, you get to choose what you want to do and work as a community. And, I think another thing is that you meet awesome people, you make new friends, and you make new connections with people at JCUA.

What is something you’re looking forward to in the next year?:

One of the options outside of meeting at Or Tzedek is a group JCUA’s Kol Or caucus, and my mom and I have attended a lot, and I’m really excited because I think we’re going to start going more regularly, and I’m excited to see how it grows and how I can stay connected with it after Or Tzedek ends!

Learn more about Or Tzedek and JCUA’s youth engagement programs here. If you have questions, contact JCUA Manager of Youth Engagement Mara Wolkoff: mara@jcua.org

--

--