#RaiseYourVoice with Beth Brazelton

JCUA
Jewish Council on Urban Affairs
3 min readSep 19, 2019

The next 12 months are critical for JCUA. We have a mayor and city council who have pledged to implement bold ideas for the City of Chicago. We have an upcoming presidential election that will determine the future of the country. The next year will determine whether we elevate hate, racism and antisemitism or whether we elevate justice, equity and multi-racial democracy.

To prepare for the Jewish new year, we’re speaking with core members about their experiences working with JCUA and their plans for the next year. The following conversation is with JCUA member Beth Brazelton.

How did you get involved with JCUA, and what have you been working on?

JCUA community organizer Danny Kaplan started to come to our temple and advertise for JCUA. Our congregation’s Rabbi Capers Funnye was also heavily involved. I got more interested when Cydney Wallace pushed me to come. She said that JCUA wanted to reach out to more African American Jews. And I was really drawn to the police accountability program. Right now I’m part of the Kol Or caucus, which is bringing people of color into the organization. A lot of the issues that we work on, such as immigration justice and housing, affect people of color in a much different way so it’s important that we’re a big part of the conversation.

Beth Brazelton (center) canvassing for GAPA with JCUA

What is it like to be part of the JCUA community?

I get a sense of pride of being involved with JCUA. I get to feel accomplished because so often we see problems and situations come up, and then nothing will ever get done about it. But by being involved with JCUA and seeing how change can happen, and how I can effect change, is fantastic.

What role does JCUA have in the City of Chicago?

I think JCUA plays a very vital role. Because of a lot of times, if issues aren’t up front and talked about, they get overlooked. We keep important topics and issues in the face of the mayor and city council.

What are you looking forward to over the next year, personally and politically?

I’ve been thinking about food and where our food comes from. Right now we grow some of our own food, and we raise chicken and goats. Me and my husband are interested in purchasing land from Georgia. I first got interested in this work after watching a YouTube video that explained that there were 150 varieties of tomatoes, and not just the same three varieties you find in the grocery store. So I wanted to try my hand at growing different things. I also started doing research and learning that a lot of conditions and diseases start in our stomach and our gut. So one way to keep ourselves and communities healthy is by growing our own food.

I also want to see what changes we can make with police accountability. I would love to see the culture change, and whether we can have a different relationship with police. GAPA could help.

How will you Raise Your Voice for meaningful social change in 5780?

When I think about it, a lot of poor people don’t have access to good food. I want to do more education about food, including starting a community garden around our temple. It would be able to serve a lot of our elders who can’t really get out, and also teach the youth about where their food comes from.

At this crucial time in our city, and at this special moment in the Jewish calendar, we ask you that you#RaiseYourVoice with JCUA. Learn more about the campaign and our work here.

--

--