#RaiseYourVoice with Rose Shapiro

A conversation with a core member about their experiences with JCUA and their hopes for the Jewish new year.

JCUA
Jewish Council on Urban Affairs
3 min readSep 17, 2019

--

The next 12 months are critical for JCUA. We have a mayor and city council who have pledged to implement bold ideas for the City of Chicago. We have an upcoming presidential election that will determine the future of the country. The next year will determine whether we elevate hate, racism and antisemitism, or whether we elevate justice, equity and multi-racial democracy.

To prepare for the Jewish new year, we’re speaking with core members about their experiences working with JCUA and their plans for the next year. The following conversation is with JCUA member Rose Shapiro.

How did you get involved with JCUA, and what have you been working on?

I got involved a little more than a year ago. I had met two people who were members, Aitan and Iszy Licht, who thought I would enjoy working with JCUA. They were right. I’ve mostly been working with JCUA’s immigration justice committee, which involves a lot of different types of work. Along with attending committee meetings, I was able to go to Springfield, Illinois this spring to speak with legislators about the bills we supported for making a Welcoming Illinois. Additionally, I’ve gotten to call representatives, and work with my county commissioner to push to get investigate the Cook County Gang Database.

What is it like to be part of the JCUA community?

It’s awesome. I feel like while a lot of the Jewish spaces I’ve been involved in have had progressive or social justice components, they could sometimes be intolerant or disengaged with the issues facing non-Jewish communities. With JCUA that’s not the case. Even though much of our activity is secular, it’s really connected me more to my religion and culture. It’s also great to be able to go to actions and interact with people who are not my age. I don’t usually get to spend time with people who are not within 10 years of my age. But we have work that is common to us, and it becomes inspiring.

What role does JCUA have in the Chicago?

I think my favorite part of JCUA is how situated it is in the city of Chicago, but how it seeks to build partnerships and relationships with groups across the city. JCUA really enables its members, and utilizes the Jewish community’s people power to tell our representatives about the issues we care about. Even when some issues we work on don’t directly impact our specific region or district, we consider ourselves a full part of the Chicago and Illinois communities. Whatever happens to others is important to us. And it’s so cool to see the strategic connections we’ve made across the geographic and social divides of the city.

What do you look forward to in the next year, both personally and politically?

I’m really hopeful about passing the Welcoming City ordinance amendments. I’m also really excited for organizing around the Fair Tax campaign. I think it’s such an amazing step on a different level, compared to our other work, in regards to what it means for the system of inequality and taking on a root-cause approach. Personally, I’m starting to think about my long-term career goals!

How will you Raise Your Voice for meaningful social change in 5780?

I see the work with JCUA as being a tangible way of raising my voice. I want to bring that passion into other parts of life. One thing I’ve learned from JCUA is no matter where we live or where we are in life, we’re citizens and we’re part of a democracy. This sometimes feels intimidating, but I can continue to practice it for the rest of my life. I hope that I’ll be able to share this with other people.

At this crucial time in our city, and at this special moment in the Jewish calendar, we ask you that you#RaiseYourVoice with JCUA. Learn more about the campaign and our work here.

--

--