A Bourdain Pilgrimage

Jezebel Feast
Jezebel’s Feast
Published in
9 min readJan 15, 2020

--

My idealized hero.

Photo by Olavs Adolfs Silis on 123RF

I looked into the mirror at my jet lagged eyes, while standing in the modest restroom of the restaurant at La Ferme Ostalapia.

A bed and breakfast that Anthony Bourdain frequented, just across the border from Spain in the small town of Ahetze, France. I wondered what Anthony was thinking when he undoubtedly also looked at his reflection in this mirror.

After washing up, I walked slowly through the rustic dining room, patting the owners dog on my way out to the patio where my family was seated.

I took in the view, rolling green forested hills with dark gray puffy clouds surrounding us. Tan cows with bells grazing nearby.

I sat and glanced at the seat Bourdain occupied while he filmed an episode here, a year or so before his death.

I am obviously far from alone in my admiration of Anthony Bourdain’s career and his writing.

I have spent nearly two decades of my life working my way up from rock bottom, to playing key roles in notable bars and restaurants.

After spending considerable time in the trenches, I can attest from personal experience that no one has ever captured…

--

--

Jezebel Feast
Jezebel’s Feast

I quit my job to design & live a sustainable lifestyle. Would you like to join me? ➡️ Visit me at my new home www.jezebelsfeast.com … 🌈👣🗺🌎⏳🪐🌙 🚀