Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women: A Social Media Campaign

Jheri
jherijamieson
Published in
2 min readApr 17, 2018

--

The Overview
The project assigned was to design a social media campaign that will be shared across three social media networks of choice. I will discuss the process and the challenges that led to the final outcome. Then I was examine the effectiveness of the project and the results.

The Context and the Challenge
This project was very open ended as in this design could go in any direction. We were given three weeks to develop three original designs, choosing the colour palettes, typography, and overall layout. The challenge was to have a powerful design that will get the message across to whoever is viewing it.

The Process and Insight
The first step to creating this project was to develop a campaign. I chose the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls because it is something that I am passionate about. I did research and found pictures from Unsplash that I know could be useful for my design. I then worked the images into my design and added the typography that would compliment the overall design.

The Solution
The social media campaign designs that I developed displayed photos of families without mothers, wives, and sisters which sends the message that it could be someone close to you and you would want justice for them. The photos themselves were very effective but the viewer wouldn’t know what they were about without context. Adding the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and a link helped the viewer understand the message.

The Results
I feel that the overall design was simple but effective. I knew that my campaign did not need lots of colour and images because it is a serious topic. In the future I plan on relying less on images, but in peer review, the design and the message was found effective.

--

--