Across Africa, Oceania, and the Americas I Wondered

Ameena B Djanga
JHU New York Seminar 2018
2 min readMar 23, 2018

Across Africa, Oceania, and the Americas I wondered
Into Ghana, Nigeria and Congo I entered

Dancing across the aluminum and copper textiles of the Anatsui
Mesmerized by the intricately woven metal
Lost in its reflection and detail
Light played off of it in its own silent melody

Across Africa, Oceania, and the Americas I wondered
Into Ghana, Nigeria and Congo I entered

Captured by the gaze of the pendant mask
Nigerian Benin Kingdom calling out to me
Ivory shaped ever so intensely and delicately

Securing familiar features that span across all time
Strength and determination
Regal history
Demanding respect and exaltation
Symbolic legacy
Religious dynasty

Across Africa, Oceania, and the Americas I wondered
Into Ghana, Nigeria and Congo I entered

Funneled into a woman’s mind
Reaching out to touch her forbidden bulbous body

Once used to shape the young
Now only used for display
European hands at play
Congolese bodies repeatedly taking on a new shape

Across Africa, Oceania, and the Americas I wondered
Into Ghana, Nigeria and Congo I entered

This poem was inspired by my very very very short trip to The Met. A museum with an overwhelming large collection, I spent only a short amount of time exploring their collection of art from Africa, Oceania, and the Americas. There is still so much more to explore and I highly recommend the visit.

Images that inspired this piece.

--

--

Ameena B Djanga
JHU New York Seminar 2018

Just an artsy nerdy book worm who sometimes tries her hand at writing