ashley weller
JHU New York Seminar 2018
2 min readMar 15, 2018

--

Day 3, I made it!

Today was a pretty busy day but I enjoyed every moment of it. I feel very fortunate to be able to say I’ve gone to so many museums in just a few short days. I just started week 10 of Exhibition Strategies and already this weeks reading talked about the Brooklyn Museum and their visible storage, and I saw that today! So fun!

My only regret about today was not being able to see what Studio Museum Harlem had to offer, that place looks so amazing and I wish them well on their expansion! I don’t think a lot of institutions would risk being closed for three years, actually I’m sure of it, so I think their endeavor to do so is truly amazing and speaks volumes to how loved they are by their community.

The Brooklyn Museum was spectacular. That building is so gorgeous and has endless character and personality. I definitely could have spent an additional three or more hours on top of the time that was allotted to us. Some of the details I managed to capture were the columns and the molding shown in the first photo. The architecture and detail adds so much to the space, it makes you feel like you have stepped back in time. I’ve also included a photo of just a small section of the floor mosaics, what’s not to love about mosaics? My final photo is the notice that the African art collection is off exhibition, but I really appreciated the way they sort of made it a little light hearted by saying it needed ‘tender love and care’. It’s a message visitors can relate to or understand versus saying something like ‘closed’ or nothing at all; it’s the small gestures and details that make Brooklyn Museum a beloved institution.

ALSO!! David took us to have pie on Pi day! happy 3.14……

--

--

ashley weller
JHU New York Seminar 2018

Living the dream as a museum professional by day, struggling Johns Hopkins Grad student by night, and a full time cat lady.