ashley weller
JHU New York Seminar 2018
2 min readMar 12, 2018

--

First day! 3/12/2018

Today was the first day of our seminar! Woohoo! I definitely feel a sense of relief now that it’s here and started, the anticipation was stressing me out. But, I feel good about it now!

I think I will focus my medium posts on the little details that really matter. When I visit museums I love to pay attention to what’s uniquely subtle, original to the building, decorative features, and anything that makes me think ‘oh that’s special’.

So naturally I loved the Brooklyn Historical Society building. Everything about it down to the way the wood floors creaked when you walked up the stairs, sang to my heart. I wasn’t able to snap a picture of the front door or the beautiful knobs, which I’m pretty certain are original, but they were striking. However, I was able to get a picture of the light fixture on the fourth floor, as soon as I walked into the exhibit space, it was the first thing I noticed. Not only is the fixture beautiful, but the crown molding around it brings it to life! It’s that type of detail that is so obvious you might not notice it, but it totally ties the feel of the exhibit together.

Let’s not forget about the beautiful wooden staircase!

--

--

ashley weller
JHU New York Seminar 2018

Living the dream as a museum professional by day, struggling Johns Hopkins Grad student by night, and a full time cat lady.