ashley weller
2 min readMar 20, 2018

In my element.

Much like the week previous, I did not have enough time to read every label and really soak it in like I want to. I knew our time was super limited at the National Museum of the American Indian so I took care to speed read!

I didn’t snap a picture, but I was pleasantly surprised at how easy and accessible the audio guide was for the Transformer exhibition. The guard had to help me get it to work but once you sync’d the guide to the main square you could then walk around and sync up to the other displays. The text panels offer a lot of information but being able to listen to the artist explain the history of their piece is so much more enjoyable.

I thought this basketball in the gift shop was pretty cool!
ManifestTipi

I know a bunch of people really liked the exhibit where the traditional dancing was done to hip hop (Nicholas Galanin), so if you’re interested in something a little different, I HIGHLY recommend giving a Tribe Called Red a listen! It’s techno meets pow wow. A few of my favorite songs are “Electric Pow Wow”, “Native Puppy Love”, “Red Skin Girl”.

Lovely day
ashley weller

Living the dream as a museum professional by day, struggling Johns Hopkins Grad student by night, and a full time cat lady.