Is it really over?

Emily Horbatch
2 min readMar 24, 2018

--

What a whirlwind! Last Monday, our first seminar day, feels like it happened a month ago. Looking back, I am amazed at all that we were able to pack in within a two-week time period. Although I am anxious to head back home, it will be strange to leave, I have settled into this new life in New York City.

Taken during our first day, a view through an arch from the Brooklyn Historical Society — DUMBO.

It was nice to experience New York City from its various boroughs as we traveled to and from museums and creative spaces. These visited museums similarly were thematically diverse, and yet contend with the same issues, like finding ways to operate outside of the confines of a physical building.

With accessibility as the focus of my blog posts, within the span of this seminar I became more aware of tools and techniques for museums to support access. To have used these tools for my own benefit reinforced their worth for all visitors.

After experiencing this graduate program from a totally digital perspective, it has been so refreshing to connect in person with passionate people from the program and from the larger museum community. I am so inspired by the conversations we have had, understanding the impact that I can make as a museum professional so long as I look for gaps to fill.

It was nice to connect with these ladies!

Looking forward, it will be so valuable to draw from wisdom imparted throughout this seminar, and I am grateful for it!

The End, Edward Ruscha, 1991.

References

Ruscha, E. (1991). The end [Graphite and paint on paper]. Museum of Modern Art, New York, NY.

--

--