ashley weller
JHU New York Seminar 2018
2 min readMar 20, 2018

--

Only 3 more days.

This morning we had the wonderful pleasure of a guided tour at the New York Historical Society. Up to this point I think we have visited at least 10 museums and NY Historical has been the first to offer audio guides to the entire group. I’m imagining this was a large expense for them but it’s clearly been worth their while, especially since we encountered many school groups while on our tour.

There were many spectacular attributes to the NY Historical Museum, but I was particularly fond of the Tiffany Lamp room. The modern lighting and glass cases mixed with the antique lamps really set such a wonderful tone for the room! The glass staircase was beautiful, but unfortunately I didn’t have enough time to go upstairs and see the rest of the collection.

Heiltsuk War Canoe, these babies could hold 40 plus fearsome men!

Ahhh the American Museum of Natural History, what can I say, it’s everything I’ve ever dreamed of! I know people don’t love the diorama, but they were just so beautiful and amazing I couldn’t get enough. It’s hard to believe that so many of them are decades old, the detail is phenomenal! I of course have read about them for years but seeing some of them in person was wonderful! Of all the places we’ve been thus far, we DEFINITELY didn’t have enough time at AMNH. I will just have to make another trip to NY, or cut out early Friday and spend the remainder of my day there basking in all its glory!

An Irish Elk, one of my favorite extinct Mega Fauna species!

--

--

ashley weller
JHU New York Seminar 2018

Living the dream as a museum professional by day, struggling Johns Hopkins Grad student by night, and a full time cat lady.