ashley weller
JHU New York Seminar 2018
2 min readMar 14, 2018

--

The Guggenheim was definitely the highlight of the day for me. Everything about it was so unique and different, I’m certain I’ve never experienced a museum quite like it. I loved the open concept of it, the fact that you could walk into the sectioned off alcoves and get up close and personal to the pieces!

I didn’t love the actual exhibition on display, ironically enough, but I just was so drawn to the architecture. Frank Lloyd Wright, what’s not to love? Additionally, I think the way we explored the museum by taking an evaluator to the top and then cascading down was genius, so thanks David!

I tried to pay close attention while we were at MoMA, but there weren’t any details or unique features that popped out at me. It’s very much a traditional art museum in that sense, sleek. But, Guggenheim had lots of unique decorative and fun features! It seemed like every other floor had a cool gold water fountain, maybe that seems odd, but its something that immediately jumped out at me. The fountains gave the space a distinctive feel and they stood out, it was a really cool detail. Also, I took a photo of one of their staircases, beautiful. Gold railings to match their gold water fountains! Amazing.

--

--

ashley weller
JHU New York Seminar 2018

Living the dream as a museum professional by day, struggling Johns Hopkins Grad student by night, and a full time cat lady.