ashley weller
JHU New York Seminar 2018
2 min readMar 16, 2018

--

We left the state today! Day 4 down.

What another eventful day we all had, I won’t lie, I’m pretty tired writing this post! But like, a good tired.

I felt that both The Museum of Art and Design and The Newark Museum are wonderful examples of institutions that understand the importance of aesthetics. MAD had some really great design attributes that made the space feel welcoming and encouraged visitors to linger longer. What I first noticed was the flooring while we were in the Derrick Adams: Sanctuary exhibition, the space had low lighting so the glazed glass floors let in some additional light. The low light and then the warm glow of the glazed windows in the flooring really made the space feel cozy and perfect for spending long periods contemplating his collages.

I really loved that MAD incorporated a lot of green paint on their second level where they were screening the film that went with Sanctuary and La Frontera. I recently read an article for a class that talked about the thoughts and emotions green brings out when used in an exhibit space, and I really felt that today. It’s always exciting when something you read for class is utilized in real life and it all comes together!

I added a photo of MAD’s staircase just because I really liked it. I’m really drawn to the way museums utilize stairwells or staircases. Almost every museum we’ve been to the staircases have been a work of art in and of themselves!

Love those arches
Hopefully everyone got a chance to see the Gut Skin Parka.. These are RARELY seen in person!!

--

--

ashley weller
JHU New York Seminar 2018

Living the dream as a museum professional by day, struggling Johns Hopkins Grad student by night, and a full time cat lady.