ashley weller
JHU New York Seminar 2018
2 min readMar 17, 2018

--

Week. One. Is. Done.

The Tenement Museum was such a lovely surprise! I had no idea going in that it was going to be such a personal and immersive experience.

My whole blog post “theme” has been about the little details and cool characteristics of the museums we’ve been visiting, so I’m always on the look out for something that jumps out to me to add to the blog. Today, we all were so immersed in these people’s stories I had no time to kind of ponder about unique attributes. I was so focused on what our tour guide was saying and the beautiful stories she was telling us about these families.

Everything about the Tenement was fantastic, I enjoyed the room by room narrative as well as the garment room with all the interactive technology. It really reminded me of the Wing Luke Asian American Museum in Seattle, it’s a very similar experience where you tour a boarding house where Chinese immigrants stayed while trying to get settled in their new city. Very powerful.

She is a classy lady

On a side note: while we were in the Tenement Museum’s education room, I picked up some of the flyers on the back counter. I was so drawn to this card, it’s designed to look like a Polaroid and it’s of Ramonita on her son’s wedding day in 1969. It’s beautiful, I think I might actually put a magnet on the back of it and keep it. Her story just like the other women living in 103 Orchard Street is so inspiring, and they should be celebrated and cherished for working hard to keep their homes running and their children healthy and fed.

--

--

ashley weller
JHU New York Seminar 2018

Living the dream as a museum professional by day, struggling Johns Hopkins Grad student by night, and a full time cat lady.