Cameron Lynch, the “The Energy Captain”

Jiahe Zhang
Jiahe’s Daily Stories
3 min readJul 12, 2019

Cameron Ellis Lynch is an American football linebacker who is currently a free agent. He played college football at Syracuse.

Cameron with his small media team came to our class on Friday to have an interview with us. He was in an orange and white shirt, a pair of grey jeans and a pair of black and gold Air Jordan 1. He was energetic and talkative, responding every single question patiently and asking few questions back from time to time.

Cameron Lynch(Photo/Jiahe Zhang)

Our interview started with a very casual question. One of my classmates noticed that Cameron was wearing a pair of Air Jordan, so he asked, “What is your favorite Jordan?” “That’s a nice question. I l enjoyed Jordans because I have flat feet. My favorite pair is the black gold one on my feet, I’ve got a couple of them,” Cameron responded.

Then Cameron questioned back. He asked Adam, one classmate from Tokyo, for tips about traveling in Tokyo because he wanted to attend the 2020 Olympics. Adam recommended him take the trains instead of driving due to the terrible traffic in Tokyo and choose hotel inside Tokyo.

What makes Cameron so special is his keen interest in journalism. He established his media company, owned a media team as I mentioned before. He came to USC not only for the interview, but also for the USC admission office. Cam told us that he hoped to get into the USC Annenberg grad school. “My ultimate goal as a broadcaster is to create my own path,” Camron said,” Essentially have some type of media role. Uh, my goal was to do super bowl. I had a chance to do it last year. I had a chance to do it through talk sport radio, which is a British radio station, a sports station out there. So I accomplished that goal. So now it’s like, okay, what’s next? The Olympics.”

Cameron mentioned Japan again. He loved anime such as Naruto, Dragon Ball Z, and One punch man. Naruto was his favorite. “I can relate to those character like Naruto, right? He was an outcast, right? He wasn’t great at school. He wasn’t great at a lot of things. But one thing he had faith in himself and that’s the one thing about me, right?” said Cameron. “Believing in yourself,” that was the sentence which Cam learned from Naruto and kept repeating during the whole interview.

“As young reporters, how do feel they should approach athletes? And as a broadcaster yourself, what do you take into your interviews? How do you prepare?” asked Professor Miki Turner. Cameron responded with a vivid anecdote. “I got a chance to interview Kevin Durant. I need a prop. I need something because they are not going to know who I am. Like I’m going to tell them I’m in the NFL. But not every interviewer is going to be from the NFL or the NBA, right? So they’re not gonna have that athlete to athlete bond. But what I did was I had a football and it had a university of Texas sign on it, UT. So Kevin Durant went to the UT. So like, look, I’m about to bring this football in here, this property here, so that I can break the barrier automatic and I can differentiate myself from everybody in this room,” he responded. Cameron emphasized that reporters should do research in advance and find personal connection with the interviewer so that the interview would be personable.

Finally, we asked Camron’s two media team members for one word to describe Cameron Lynch. “Energy Captain.” the word they choose was actually created by themselves. According to one of Cam’s teammate, Cam is energetic and has the ability to bring everybody in the room his energy.

To conclude, Cameron Lynch is such an animated and confident person. He knows exactly what his goal is and can focus on it. He taught me a lot with this interview. Wish him good luck in pursuing his dreams.

--

--